best of both worlds [writing words]

I realised whilst writing this post that I haven’t wrote about my own writing for quite a while and I just wanted to say that I am still going, but its slowed down. I found that there were more holes that needed filling and that I needed to take a step back and take a deep breath before restarting. I think it’s healthy for a writer to separate themselves from their work and take a break, which brings me to my tip for this week.

Take a break, re-evaluate, and above all don’t rush anything.

I think that the biggest mistake that writers can make if they aren’t ready is to jump in with two feet and then find that they don’t have the skills or the story to keep themselves afloat. Something that has happened to me often, I have this wonderful idea, I write the story, finish it and then jump into the editing without thinking, so this is from personal experience.

The best thing I think you can do when you finish a draft is to take some time, step back, read it through and then leave it. Not forever, but for as long as you think is necessary, give yourself time to come up with the answers and to develop the characters in your mind, make sure the story arcs and causes an excitement in your brain. Just leave it alone, don’t change anything, just leave it.

Then, when you feel like you’ve thought it all through and you have the answers to the problems you’ve outlined then you can go back to the draft and begin to solve the problems along with the errors you have undoubtedly made.

I wish that I had followed this advice and spent a little more time on the problems before making notes all over my work. It would have made my writing experience a whole lot easier and less stressful!

2 thoughts on “best of both worlds [writing words]

  1. I totally get this! I used to think coming up with many stories at a quick pace meant that I was a good writer with many ideas but the reality was, these ideas were not even good enough to be put in words. I have greatly scaled down my output of stories precisely because I wanted to write something that is worth waiting for. Thinking through a story is pretty important and I used to forgo this thought because I believed I could write and advance my story at the same time – I was wrong. Thanks for sharing this important tip and I’m sure it’ll go down well with many others 🙂

    • Yeah, I found that not everything works on paper, and spending a huge amount of editing a story that really doesn’t work was a complete waste of time, and if I had taken a little bit more time before starting going through the process I would have saved myself a lot of heartache and time.

Leave a Reply

