Voice of Innocence [Book Review]

So begins the tale of Emma Ranstein and Corbin Jones, two typical teenagers who travel the road of first love together, hearts sealed by a seemingly impenetrable bond. When Corbin Jones is convicted of murder and faces years in prison for a crime he didn’t commit, though, their love is put to the test.

3.5/5 – a good plot, and an intricate story

I was sent this book for review by the author in return for an honest review. I did enjoy this book, and I found that once I had started reading that I couldn’t put it down, which in the last couple of months hasn’t been happening.

I thought that the way the story switched between the point of view and time was well done. I was never confused as to who was talking and in which time frame we were in. It added a depth to the story, and allowed us to really get to know the ins and outs of the character’s lives. The way the character’s romance was explained and talked about was well written, and extremely relatable, which made all the painful twists and turns hit that little harder.

I thought that the twist with Corbin’s prison sentence was well done, however I thought that there wasn’t a lot to lead up to it, if that makes sense. The fact that although him and Randy had a past there was no real evidence that would convict him. But then again there might have been and that was the whole point, I just thought that the whole conviction process was a little shaky.

I did have a few problems with the writing within this book, I found that some of it was overwritten and in places there was too much description. It felt at some places that the storyline was weighed down by the writing and I was a little disappointed. There were things being described that needed to be, and then others that was unneeded and I found it hard to read through these parts. I thought that it doubted the intelligence of the reader.

I really did enjoy the progression of the story and the way that the characters grew. One thing that really surprised me was the fact that the relationship had flaws, that they weren’t completely secure within themselves. I think this is what differentiated this book from other romances I have read. There was no saintly pedestal, and even when Emma did do that, she immediately corrected herself and allowed herself to be called wrong. It was a nice change of pace and I really enjoyed that side of the story.

One thing I will say was I thought that the whole book was building up to this massive decision but then I got to the end and it was half a page. I thought that this was a wasted opportunity, and I was left hanging and wanting a little bit more from the whole experience. I had a lovely experience of meeting all the characters, and then no payoff at the end. It felt rushed and I felt a little let down. There was no real thought process about what the actual future held, it was all a little under thought, and almost as though it was being bent in a completely wrong direction.

I did really enjoy this book, because although I had problems within the writing, I thought the story was fantastic and the plot was well put together.


Find out more;

Goodreads

Buy this book here.

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Smashwords

Lulu

Leave a Reply

