The Transporter [Daily Prompt]

Sitting in the diner with a stack of pancakes and the maple syrup, all I could think about was the last time I had been here. My mother had sat across me with tears streaming down her face, cradling a cup of tea that she never finished. She looked at me with sad eyes as I nervously ate the pancakes in front of me.

“Allie, we’ll be okay,”

I didn’t know what to say. All I knew was that Daddy wasn’t here. I never mentioned and Mother never addressed. We spent a lot of time at diners like this one. She worked wherever they needed her and they never stayed anyway for more than a month.

She saved up and we grabbed a plane to England, and only then did she relax and begin to live her life. I used to resent her, but now I understand.

[x]

Leave a Reply

