No Thanks, [Daily Prompt]

I never wanted to be here.

We had all heard the rumours. No one had listened, we had spent a fortune on the tickets, weeks spent trying to get our parents to agree, yet why did I bother? I could have ducked out. I could have stayed, blamed it on my mum being a stooge and not letting me go, but I didn’t.

I watched the people around me downing their drinks, watching the words slur as they came out of their mouths. The dancing, the sweat dripping. I was so out of place. I feigned a stomach ache and bowed out. I sat at the edge of the pool dangling my feet in the water, looking at my reflection, debating whether the deception had gone too far.

[x]

One thought on “No Thanks, [Daily Prompt]

Leave a Reply

