Tatiana and Alexander [Book Review]

Tatiana is eighteen years old, pregnant, and widowed when she escapes war-torn Leningrad to find a new life in America. But the ghosts of her past do not rest easily. She becomes consumed by the belief that her husband, Red Army officer Alexander Belov, is still alive and needs her desperately.

5/5 – a brilliant sequel.

I would just like to point out that this isn’t going to be the usual setup as the book is way too long for a step by step thoughts, unless that would be something you guys would be interested in. This review will also include slight spoilers so if you haven’t read The Bronze Horseman then I would recommend you not read this review. I am reading the third and final installment of the trilogy and I am going to do an overview of all of the books, and what I thought of each of them.and whatnot, and look at it as a whole instead of separate books.

I was a massive fan of The Bronze Horseman and it was definitely one of my favourites for the year of 2014, and this book didn’t fail in living up to the expectations. I was so impressed with this book, my heart physically ached and I was actually crying at the end. It felt like a wonderful continuation of the first book and I felt as though the characters were wonderfully developed and it was a wonder to read.

I think the characters took on a whole new light and I loved the brand new look on Alexander, there was a new found sassiness and sarcasm that came out throughout the entirety of the book and I was really impressed with how the book developed. Although they were separated and Tati believes Alexander to be dead there was no real repetitive pity, and I really appreciated that. Instead of having the characters pity themselves and go on about the fact that the other was not there, but rather had memories flash up at inconvenient timing and through triggers that were just everyday life.

I really did enjoy the historical aspect of it and the insight into the cruel workings of the Russian prisons, and also the camps after the war was finished. The history is definitely one of the things that drew me into this series and keeps me coming back for more. This book was a fantastic sequel and I am enjoying The Summer Garden but I’m not sure if it is going to be quite as high up on my list.

Leave a Reply

