The Maze Runner Series.

This was a series that I read a little while ago and I almost read them back to back and it wasn’t my favourite book series, in fact I really didn’t like it at all, I was bored all the way through and struggled to finish them. So here is my overall view of the books, it won’t be as detailed as my normal book reviews but I will try my best.

The Maze Runner

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone

This book took me forever to read, and not in a reading slump kind of way, it just seemed to go on forever and ever. It began to drag, which was a shame because I thought that the beginning was a really good start. The concept was really cool and the characters were well introduced, but as the book moved forward it became clear that the characters were faceless and it was hard to keep a track of what was happening to who and where they were.

I enjoyed the idea of the different factions and the employment that they have created and the democracy that seems to have taken place. What I didn’t like was the fact that although all the jobs are supposedly valued there are still ones that are looked down upon and unwanted, as though they mean less. This didn’t seem to be consistent with what their idea of their ideal society they were trying to create.

I thought that although this book started strong, the ending and the arc was obvious and really predictable, in fact I had already worked exactly what was going to happen at the end and how the whole thing was going to end. It was a really disappointing ending and I was left feeling as though there were too many loose ends, and I had no connection to the characters or sadness when things didn’t come right at the end. Overall it was a mess and a disappointment.

The Scorch Trials

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.

I had heard that this book was better than the first, but unfortunately I had just as much trouble with this one as the other. I thought that the biggest problem was how confusing everything got, and the characters that were introduced had the same problem of being completely faceless and I felt as though I couldn’t connect to any of them. It was another problem that the girls group had been introduced and that we started to keep track of who they were which just made things a lot worse and lot more confusing.

The plot was really hard to follow and I found myself bored and struggling to keep up with what was going on and what was actually supposed to be happening. I was really confused by everything that Teresa was doing and the way that she was being painted. I was unsure of what was actually going down, and even at the end when everything was over and done with I found it exceptionally hard to figure out what was going on.

Overall I thought that once again the main problem with this book was the plotline and the lack of character development, I thought that this was a major problem. I found myself still having a problem connecting with the characters, and feeling any kind of sympathy to what was happening.

The Death Cure

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

I thought that out of all three this one made the most sense and it was the one that I had the most enjoyed, because we finally had some connection to the characters and I actually felt sad when bad things happened. I thought that the trials that they went through were a lot better than the others because it was a lot less like a conspiracy theory.

The plotline was a lot clearer and the conflict was better formed and made for a more interesting read. I really did enjoy the way that the plot moved in a clear line and was easier to understand. I liked the growth that the characters undertook throughout this novel and the way that there were hard decisions to be made and the way that they were made.

Overall, this was the best book out of the series. I thought that it was a surprising conclusion and I was impressed with how satisfied I was with it. However I don’t think that this book by any means makes up for the lack of organisation and love for the characters in the other books.

[I know this review is late, but I was hoping that I would have a new and updated review for you guys, still struggling with the reading]

Leave a Reply

