The Hunger Games – A Complete Review

I know that this is a little slow on the bandwagon, but I had already read them before this year and this was a reread for when the movie come out in November. I thought it would be cool to share my thoughts on the individual books just in time for movie time.

The Hunger Games

This is the first book, and probably the best. You get to meet Katniss and Gale, and immediately it becomes clear what kind of world they live in the 12 districts and the Reaping. I love this book because the world is so well constructed and when it comes to the Games, the violence and the arena is so well described and done it really makes you question your life and whether this could really happen. Why I didn’t like this book as much as I should have, I felt as though the idea of Peeta was a little too good to be true, little bit sickly sweet.

Catching Fire

The second book in the series, and Katniss and Peeta once again finds themselves in the Games but this time they are at the mercy of President Snow. I love this book, because the characters are really well constructed especially with the idea of the previous victors having to participate. I didn’t really like this book because I thought that the ending was a little obvious and I kind of guessed something was going to happen.

Mockingjay

Katniss has become the face of a rebellion and is on a mission to save the world from Snow’s wrath. I loved this book because of the changes in character dynamics, and there are quite a few of them and I think they are really well dealt with. Out of all three of the books, this has to be my least favourite, there was a lot I didn’t like. I didn’t like how rushed it felt and the different characters that are rushed through. But in terms of the series it is a good if not a weak ending

There it is guys, not quite as long as my Percy Jackson one which I will link right here. This is one of the best series I have read.

4 thoughts on “The Hunger Games – A Complete Review

  1. Catching Fire was my favorite of the series – I loved all of the character development and how we finally see some glimpses of Katniss as a normal girl without all of the worries of the world on her shoulder – since she basically accepts she’s going to die. And I like Mockingjay a little bit more every time I read it. Collins had to make it shorter than she wanted, which explains some of the rushed feel, and like you said – the character dynamics are so interesting.

      • I hate Gale with a passion. And yes, I loved seeing Peeta and Katniss just be regular teens and enjoy each others company without over thinking everything like Katniss is usually doing.

      • yeah that probably was the best part of Catching Fire.

        Urrgh Gale, he makes me mad. I’m just getting mad thinking about how annoyed he makes me.

Leave a Reply

