Let the madness begin… almost NaNoWriMo.

It’s that time of year again, 8 days and a few hours to go and the madness of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) will be upon us.

I am ‘competing’ this year, I did it last year and failed. Well I say failed but I didn’t win but for me 32,000 odd words wasn’t a failure. Now I’m rambling. Nevertheless I am determined to win this year and there shouldn’t be any reason that I can’t, I’m no longer at university and my other commitments are taking up a minimal amount of time, so what could be the problem right?

Self-motivation and self-belief are big ones. I think that the novelty wears off and it becomes tougher to sit down and write something everyday especially such a big amount as 1667 words. It doesn’t sound like a lot, but one off day and your setback is massive and then you’re playing catch-up, you have to be on the ball, disciplined and self-motivated.

All of those things, I am not. I struggle to motivate myself daily, and I’m lucky if I make the time to write more than ten minutes a day. Other things distract me and take up my time, which is wrong. I am a writer, and I should act like it. That is one of the main things I am looking for in doing NaNoWriMo, making more time for writing, and of course to get a novel to work with.

Bearing in mind I still haven’t finished rewriting the novel I nearly finished writing last year, and I’m hoping for the motivation to hit me and I’ll do that straight after and I could have that done and then start on rewriting the one I hopefully finish this year.

So I know this post has been a little rambling, and sorry about that, but what I’m saying is that I AM participating in NaNoWriMo and I AM going to win (hopefully). In terms of blogging, I WANT to do daily updates, and that would be cool, if I’m going to have the time is another thing. I might have to cut it down to weekly updates.

In terms of this week though I have my ‘preparation’ blog post planned, telling you all what I did to prepare for this year and how it differed to last year, so stay tuned and watch out for that!

2 thoughts on “Let the madness begin… almost NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

