The House of Silk… Not a substitute!!

It is November 1890 and London is gripped by a merciless winter. Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson are enjoying tea by the fire when an agitated gentleman arrives unannounced at 221b Baker Street. He begs Holmes for help, telling the unnerving story of a scar-faced man with piercing eyes who has stalked him in recent weeks.

Intrigued, Holmes and Watson find themselves swiftly drawn into a series of puzzling and sinister events, stretching from the gas-lit streets of London to the teeming criminal underworld of Boston and the mysterious ‘House of Silk’…

4/5 – good, but dragged in places.

I read this book because it had been recommended SO many times by my friends at uni and also because I was a massive Sherlock Holmes fan and really wanted to try something different and inspired by him.

I thought that overall the story was brilliant, and I thought that it was really well done. I did think that in some places it dragged and that was a bit of a bummer. But I also loved the fact that I had no idea how it was going to end or what the actual resolution to the story was and that made me very happy and bumped the rating of this book up for me.

The characters were well represented, and I thought that Horowitz had captured the voices and the characters well. I could definitely see hoe they had been constructed and the way that they had been carried on through this work of fiction.

My bad points were that if it was such a high profile case then why not publish it then, instead of waiting for years after, but that was about it. I would definitely say that this book should be in no way a substitution for the Conan-Doyle and you should definitely read some of that before hand.

Leave a Reply

