Last Train to Istanbul… a new viewpoint to the war.

As the daughter of one of Turkey’s last Ottoman pashas, Selva could win the heart of any man in Ankara. Yet the spirited young beauty only has eyes for Rafael Alfandari, the handsome Jewish son of an esteemed court physician. In defiance of their families, they marry, fleeing to Paris to build a new life.

But when the Nazis invade France, the exiled lovers will learn that nothing—not war, not politics, not even religion—can break the bonds of family. For after they learn that Selva is but one of their fellow citizens trapped in France, a handful of brave Turkish diplomats hatch a plan to spirit the Alfandaris and hundreds of innocents, many of whom are Jewish, to safety. Together, they must traverse a war-torn continent, crossing enemy lines and risking everything in a desperate bid for freedom.

3/5 – really interesting and eye-opening.

This book offers a completely different viewpoint to a point in history that I genuinely am interested in and pride myself on knowing a lot about. However this book interested me in a way that I thought I never would be. It gave me a new viewpoint and it was extremely well done. 

One of the things that really impressed me was the migration of the two cultures, French and Turkey. There was a definite difference between the two but the way that they were worked into the story was impeccably done and I really enjoyed that aspect of the story.

I thought that although the story was really interesting there were points where it began to drag and become repetitive especially with the separate character’s stories. I thought that it was a shame. Especially with the way it began to drag instead of flow like it had done originally. 

This book was free, and I am glad that I chose to read this, it offered a different view to a situation that I thought I knew all about and had experienced all I thought I had.

Leave a Reply

