Landline… Not my favourite but still loved.

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now.
Maybe that was always beside the point.

4.5/5 – not my favourite but I still loved it!

I think that this book had all the makings of a five out of five but I found that the story dragged in places and I found it hard to read in places. I thought the story could have lost fifty pages without anything really being cut out. 

I loved the idea of the time travelling phone and the thought that you could make a massive change in your own life and with the person that you loved. I however couldn’t understand why you would ever choose work over your children, but then again, I don’t have children, and there must be people that make that decision everyday. 

I am happy with the ending although it was obvious for a time that that would be the decision she would have made. However there was nothing that could have prepared me for the anxiety I felt when she was faced with the consequences of her phone calls to the past.

It wasn’t my favourite Rowell work because I felt as though I couldn’t connect with the characters quite the same way as I did with Fangirl, and I hope that I won’t have the same reaction as this to the others. 

Leave a Reply

