Daughter of Smoke and Bone… A future favourite trilogy, maybe?

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?


Rating; 4/5 – two worlds that meshed together fantastically.

What I liked; I liked the idea that there were two worlds so close and so well meshed together, it was really well done. I thought that the doors and the errands were a really clever idea and also how little Karou knew about the things she was doing made it seem so more intriguing and real.

What I loved; I adored Karou and the different types of chimera, I absolutely adored imagining them in my head and Laini Taylor’s ability to make them seem so normal and part of this world. I loved the integration of the two worlds and the way that it was done, the flashbacks and the memories was so well done, that I really enjoyed it and found it super enjoyable.

What I disliked; I kind of guessed the twist ending, there was a little bit of a surprise but it wasn’t as much of a twist as I thought it would have been, and it was kind of disappointing. That was about it y’know, really didn’t dislike anything else.

What I hated; I don’t know why I have this category because I didn’t really hate anything in this book, I kind of hated the self indulgence of the main male character and the self pity, but that really wasn’t for much of it. So I can’t really call it a hate hate thing. 

What I read next; The Letter for the King, I was recommended this by my friend at uni and was badgered into reading it. 

