The Cuckoo’s Calling… what a surprise.

After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.

4.5/5 – was super impressed with this book and the storyline was a surprise.

What I liked about it; I liked the two characters and I liked how the dynamic of him failing and her on the cusp of achieving was well done. I have to admit that I went into this book, not thinking I was going to like this as I HATED The Casual Vacancy and really struggled with the story, but I was so surprised and how much of this book I genuinely liked and that was such a nice surprise that I got a buzz out of finishing it.

What I loved about it; I loved the ending, and I love the fact that I had worked out the ending along with Strike if that makes sense, I think when I was reading it I was following his thought process and came to the same conclusion. I really enjoyed the ending and I thought it was a definite improvement in Rowling’s writing especially in her adult books, because lets face it she has children and YA down to a tea. 

What I disliked about it; I disliked the use of obvious suspects, if you get what I mean, the characters that have been set up as the fall guy in every crime fiction, I understand, before everyone goes ape that it is a convention, however in this book I thought it was a tad overdone. 

What I hated about it; I hated the boyfriend, I didn’t really see the point of him, apart from to irritate readers. I’m sure that there are many authorish profound reasons as to why he was included, but I HATED it, and thought that his whole character was a pointless waste of time.

What did I read next?; Sea of Shadows by Kelly Armstrong, I bought this as a cheap find and my boyfriend picked it off my shelf for me.

Leave a Reply

