Sea of Shadows… let me down like a wave!

In the Forest of the Dead, where the empire’s worst criminals are exiled, twin sisters Moria and Ashyn are charged with a dangerous task. For they are the Keeper and the Seeker, and each year they must quiet the enraged souls of the damned.
Only this year, the souls will not be quieted.
Ambushed and separated by an ancient evil, the sisters’ journey to find each other sends them far from the only home they’ve ever known. Accompanied by a stubborn imperial guard and a dashing condemned thief, the girls cross a once-empty wasteland, now filled with reawakened monsters of legend, as they travel to warn the emperor. But a terrible secret awaits them at court—one that will alter the balance of their world forever

4/5 – loved the story, HATED the ending.

What I liked about it; I really like the concept for this series, I think if it’s done right it could be something really special. I like the idea of myths and legends coming to life in a world that is ruled by superstition and spirits. The idea of the woods and finding the dead to put them at peace, was a really well executed idea in this book (pardon the pun). I liked the characters and the twins especially, I thought that their differences were well portrayed and I found myself really enjoying their interactions.   

What I loved about it; I loved the two animals, the wildcat and the hound, and the idea of secret rebellion up in this small town in the mountains. The imagery and world building in this book left nothing to be desired and I was really impressed! I really enjoyed the superstition and the ‘magic’ that this book describes it was different from other stuff that I had watched so I really enjoyed it. It made me super happy!

What I disliked about it; In terms of dislike, I felt as though I connected well with some of the characters and then not at all with some of the others. I kind of felt let down with the whole character side, especially with it ending the way that it did. 

What I hated about it; I HATED the ending, I thought that the last line was a complete cliché and ruined the whole sense of the book, so instead of walking away thrilled for the next one I was irritated ): 

What did I read next?; The Circle by David Eggars, I really like the idea behind this book, and wanted to see whether it would pass the ‘Jordann Test’

 

p.s I am still reading Harry Potter, but I’m going to do a massive post at the end of August telling you how I did!

Leave a Reply

