Clockwork Prince… better and worst than the first

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

3/5 – not as drawn as the first one!

What I liked about it; I like how clear this book was with its follow on, there was no stupid time lapses that meant we had missed years of the character’s lives, it meant that everything was fresh. I liked the fact that the other characters took on a more prominent role in the storyline. It made for a nice change, and I think that is why I enjoy this series more than The Mortal Instruments. 

What I loved about it; I loved Jess’ involvement in everything. I thought that it made for a twist that wouldn’t have been seen by many, and I think it really highlighted the problems within the Shadowhunter community better than anything else. I loved the fact that Will finally had an explanation, I thought it was fantastic, and I also loved the fact that the ending wasn’t stereotypical and there wasn’t a wonderful resolution to all of the problems. 

What I disliked about it; I disliked the fact that there was a lot of information packed into the book, and not all of it was given an adequate amount of explanation for my liking, however there is the third book to consider, and hopefully, that will answer all of my yearning questions. 

What I hated about it; I can’t really think of anything that I truly hated, it still hasn’t made it onto my favourites shelf yet though.

What did I read next?; The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith, I have put this book off and I keep putting it off, ready to read it now. 

Leave a Reply

