Grave Mercy… So badass!!

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?
Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

4.5/5 – I really loved this book and the story was fantastic

What I liked about it; I liked the overall concept for this book, I thought that it was an amazing idea, and I am kicking myself that I didn’t think of it first. It was so well executed and I really liked the integration of religion and also the use of saints and the reflection of old and new. It was well done, and so believable. I really liked that everything worked up slowly, and there was foreshadowing but the ending was still a bit of a surprise.  

What I loved about it; I loved the way that they were worshipping Death instead of God and there was no weirdness and it wasn’t made to seem wrong if that makes sense, there was no shame in it. I loved the dynamic behind the friendships, and the way that they all seem to be going on their own paths. The idea of destroying people’s lives in order to get away from something horrible in your life, was super intriguing, and really differentiated this books from a failure to a absolute success. 

What I disliked about it; I didn’t really dislike anything about this book, it made sense all the way through, and I wasn’t left confused by anything which is always nice. I haven’t read the second one, so don’t hold me accountable, I would have loved to learn more about the secondary characters, I think that if this was brought into the second book I would be so happy!

What I hated about it; Nothing, blah, it would be blasphemous. 

What did I read next?; Saga graphic novel series, this has received so much hype!

Leave a Reply

