A Game of Thrones… is this amount of love legal?

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun. As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty. The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

4.5/5 – so much love, it’s overwhelming!

What I liked about it; I liked everything about this book! I was a huge fan of the series before I read the book thanks to the TV show, so I had high expectations for this book and it fulfilled everyone of them! The characters that I love and hate were as developed as the TV show and now I feel as though I know them more. I liked the different narratives and the way the story changed depending on which character was the focus, it was really cleverly done.

What I loved about it; I loved how much was kept in the TV show, and I loved the fact that we got more of a background to Bran’s decision to go so far north. It was so surprising and wonderful. I loved how much emotion that I felt when reading this book. My heart broke with the people I was reading about and the way that they were trying to keep going on. My favourite character is still Dany! I love her lots.

What I disliked about it; I only disliked how long it took me to read this book, it was quite a slow read and I thought that in some parts the narrative could have been cut down a little, but other than that it was fantastic.

What I hated about it; I hate that I had to be a fan of the TV show to start reading this series, it is fantastic in its own right.

What did I read next?; Where She Went by Gayle Forman, need to find out what has happened and the way that everything went.

8 thoughts on “A Game of Thrones… is this amount of love legal?

  1. I’ve always been reluctant to read the Game of Thrones series, despite buying the first book a while back. I think it’s because I’m intimidated by how big a world it’s based in, but I’ve heard so many positive reviews, that I might just try it out once and for all. Great review!

    • That’s what I found so wonderful, because the books are separated by people instead of events it’s not hard to keep track off because you begin to associate certain places with the people!

      You really should give it a go! It’s a brilliant book! (:

      Thanks for stopping by!

    • I just finished watching season 4. So tempted to read the books since I don’t want to have to wait a whole year for season 5. However I too am reluctant to pick up the books. Due to the number of characters and the sheer size also being intimidating.
      This review may just tempt me though. Hopefully if I read only the first two novels, I wont spoil too much of the show when it restarts next year. What do you guys think?

      • Yeah the two front novels are series one and two from what I can gather, and then on it gets a little dicey!

        From a lover of the TV show, like oh my, pick them up already!

        There aren’t that many more characters as in the TV show and it’s set out in such a easy way to follow.

      • Thanks for the advice. Will have to give it a try. Now that University is done, have lots of free time until grades come out and the serious job hunting begins. Reading these novels might be a good use of that time 😉

    • yeaah, I’ve been watching since the beginning, just wish I had read them before I watched!

      Yeah I was so surprised with the similarity but differences between the two!! Bran’s background about going so far north was BRILLIANT and much needed, the TV show kinda glides over this.

      • The details and backstory with Bran and his traveling companions is something I really missed on the show. I think the show is still doing a crazy good adaptation, and they’ve done pretty well when they have to combine characters, or adjust scenes, or put in non-point of view character stuff (like Robert and Cersei having a conversation), but not all the stories come across as well as others.

        Again, thumbs up on reading the books.

Leave a Reply

