Winger… such a good surprise!!

Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.

What I liked about it; I liked the normality of the setting, and I felt like this added so much to the story. I also liked the isolation that the character felt because he was placed in O Hall and the way the teachers were represented. There were definitely characters in here that will remain on my brain for a long while.

What I loved about it; I loved the way that Winger’s voice was told, and I loved the comics and the drawings that went along with this story, it made him feel as though he was an actual real person. The ending shocked me and it made me feel horrible but I completely understood why it needed to happen, and in a way it was the perfect ending to the story.

What I disliked about it; I don’t think that I disliked anything, maybe the hmm and harring over the love relationships and Winger’s naivety towards women.

What I hated about it; Nothing, I really enjoyed this book.

What did I read next?; Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J K Rowling, there will be a whole blog post explaining this.

Leave a Reply

