The Tupenny Hat Detective… so worth getting!

This book follows the story of a young boy who becomes suspicious about an old woman’s death and takes it upon him and his friends to find out what has happened.

8/10 – what a find, convinced me to take more of a chance on books. 

What I liked about it; I liked the way that the voice was consistent all the way through and that when the voice changed there was an obvious reason and there was a point in the story. I also really liked how the story was formed and everything was linked and became clear without force. It was really brilliantly brought together.

What I loved about it; My one massive love for this book would have to be the story behind the name of the book. I really enjoyed the characters and the dynamics behind the friendship and the way that they were typical kids instead of perfect kids that are doing it for the ‘good of the community’ and they were in it for the mischief.

What I disliked about it; I think the one complaint I had was the fact that I felt the twist came too close to the end and it wasn’t developed fully, and I also felt that there were too many things that I didn’t think linked together at the end, and were put in just to make the ending more interesting. It worked but it felt a little unneeded.

What I hated about it; There was nothing that I truly hated about this book, it was a brilliant free read* and would definitely consider reading another one.

What did I read next?; The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon, I have been intrigued by this book since I bought it and thought it was about time to read it.

 

*http://amzn.to/1khXDDE << click here for the chance to buy this book for free!!

Leave a Reply

