The Subtle Knife… a knife to the freaking heart.

Having slipped through a newly formed astral portal, the intrepid Lyra finds herself in the beautiful, haunted world of Città gazze–a city where soul-eating Specters stalk the streets and the wingbeats of distant angels sound against the sky. But she is not without allies. For young Will Parry, in search of his father, has also stumbled into this strange new realm via a magic gateway. Together the enlightened pair forge ahead on a perilous journey between worlds teeming with witches, angels, and sorcery–and uncover a deadly secret: an object of extraordinary and devastating power. But with every step, they move closer to an even greater threat–and the shattering truth of their own destiny . . (description from Goodreads)

9/10 – so freaking good, need to read the next one!!

What I liked about it; I liked the two worlds entwining, the modern with Lyra’s interpretations. I liked the way that the story was a natural progression from The Golden Compass and the character story lines were perfect.

What I loved about it; I loved Will and the ties that connect him to the original story and the way that everything becomes clearer towards the end. I enjoyed the dynamic between Will and Lyra, and how quickly they began trusting each other and how they leaned on each other through everything.

What I disliked about it; I thought that although the book followed on quickly I felt there were some questions that were left unanswered and when the book tried to resolve these, it became confusing, and disappointing. But because there was so little of it, it didn’t make a massive difference in the grand scheme of things.

What I hated about it; I HATED the fact that the deaths in the first book got so little mention, I thought that Lyra moved on too quickly and was almost as though it never happened. That disappointed me a little, but still I managed to get over it.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer, the book has intrigued me for a long while, so I’m finally getting to it.

4 thoughts on “The Subtle Knife… a knife to the freaking heart.

Leave a Reply

