The Wind in the Willows… talking animals, YAY!

This book is a collection of stories about the residents of the River and the Wild Woods, the main characters we meet are Badger, Mole, Water Rat, Otter and the infamous Mr Toad. These are cute and fun stories, and they each say something different about each of the animals.

7/10 – cute talking animals, need I say any more.

What I liked about it; I liked the different stories and the way that I was drawn in, really compelling. It was cute how all the characters became entwined and all followed social etiquette like humans do. I liked all the characters and I liked the way that they each seemed to have their own story.

What I loved about it; I loved the story about Mole and his house and the way that his nose guided him home, I think this is a really cute idea and made me happy, so happy inside. I also loved Otter’s sense of humour and the fact that he was willing to fight the whole of Wild Woods for his friends if he needed to.

What I disliked about it; I thought that after a certain amount of time the book became a little slow and monotonous, I felt as though nothing new was being introduced and it was becoming a little repetitive.

What I hated about it; I hated Toad’s vanity, and although it was in there to prove a point I felt that in some ways it was over done and became overwhelming.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman, it is high time I finished this series, because jeez it’s been forever since I read the first one.

 

3 thoughts on “The Wind in the Willows… talking animals, YAY!

  1. Wow – this book brings back memories, for sure!

    I’d like to invite you to write a “Book vs. Movie” review and enter my “Book vs. Movie” Contest! There’s a movie gift card up for grabs, and I think it would be fun to see what you come up with! http://wp.me/P4enVm-Q

    • Wow, thanks, I will definitely have a look at that, and see what I can come up with.

      Thanks for the opportunity!

Leave a Reply

