Where There’s Smoke… just a taster.

This short story (I thought this was a full length piece, ah well) follows a psychic called Serenity and we watch the rise and fall of her career, and the repercussions of her actions and the price she pays. This will be a short-ish review, the book was only 42 pages.

8/10 – definitely would read a book based off this character.

What I liked about it; I struggle with the storyline of some of the Jodi Picoult books, but this pleasantly surprised me. I enjoyed the characters and their outlooks on life and also the way that the story dipped and came back up. I wasn’t bored and found it super easy to follow.

What I loved about it; I loved the spirit guides, they were hilarious, it was so good. It actually made the book so much more funny, and they were definitely a much needed character.

What I disliked about it; I disliked the fact that this was a short story, but then from what I can gather it’s a teaser for her new book coming out in November, so I will be picking that up and seeing where that will be going.

What I hated about it; I didn’t really get enough to decide that I hated anything about it, maybe I’ll get a strong dislike about something in the novel.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, I have been meaning to read this for a while, and it will be my classic for this month.

 

Leave a Reply

