City of Heavenly Fire… so worth the time!

This book is the sixth instalment in Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instrument series, so for the sake of spoilers I won’t be going into plotline, I would have half the internet chasing after me if I ruined any of it!

7/10 – a decent ending, far better than what I was expecting.

What I liked about it; I was quite surprised about the things that I liked about this book, because I marathoned the series a while back and found the characters to be grating and irritating, but I actually enjoyed this book. I liked the fact that the characters seemed to grow as people in this finale, and that there was a sign that there was more to their lives that love. I felt and liked the way that we learnt more about the characters than we did in any other book.

What I loved about it; I loved the ending, I found it satisfactory and the set up for the next series really cleverly done. It was well worth getting to the end of, and I think that this book has redeemed all the others in my mind. I’m not a fan of epilogues that are set after all the action, in fact I hated Rowling’s, but this one seemed to work, and it was the fact that it surprised me with how much I liked it that I loved so much.

What I disliked about it; This will always be the one thing I dislike about all of the books, and that’s Clary, GOSH she is so annoying, sometimes I just want to reach into the book and punch her square in the nose.

What I hated about it; The only thing I hated was the fact that Alec had been turned into a heartbroken teenager, but I guess I got over it.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, because it is calling out to me, to be read, and I really need to!

2 thoughts on “City of Heavenly Fire… so worth the time!

    • Yeah, it redeems the whole series in my eyes. I don’t know why, maybe it was because I read the whole series at once, but I just didn’t feel drawn in as it seems so many people did.

      I can not bear Clary, I love all the other characters especially, Simon and Izzy ooo and especially Magnus, but Clary sucks.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

