Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe… Oh my.

This book tells the story of two young Mexican boys living in El Paso in the 1980’s. It’s told from Aristotle’s point of view and we see them develop as friends, and pass through many of life’s challenges and struggles, and they deal with their identities and who they are destined to be.

9/10 – golly gosh this book is fantastic.

What I liked about it; I liked the characters and the relationships and the fact that they were so realistic. I liked the parents relationship with Aristotle and Dante, I thought that it was so well done, you could feel the love that they have for each other seeping through the pages. The way that neither family is the perfect wonderful family, but in the same way they are perfect in the way that they need to be. The whole character dynamic was perfect, even the flaws was perfect.

What I loved about it; The list is massive. I loved everything about this book, well nearly everything. I loved the fact that you the reader knew more about Ari’s inner thoughts and feelings than he did. It was so cleverly done, the masking emotions that hid the real intentions. The friendship that grows out of loneliness and sadness is exceptional, and so believable.

What I disliked about it; The only thing that I didn’t like about it was that I thought that the ending was a little rushed, I felt as though there could have been a lot more added. Saying that though I found the ending in terms of development really satisfying. Maybe I’m just being a greedy reader! I just wanted more.

What I hated about it; There was genuinely nothing to hate in this book. I love it way to much to hate anything about this.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; A Blink of the Screen by Terry Prachett, this book has been sat on my shelf for I don’t even know how long, so it’s time to crack the spine and read it. I love Terry Pratchett, I just find it hard to commit to the Discworld Series cause it’s SO long.

 

Leave a Reply

