The Casual Vacancy… where’s the payoff?

The Casual Vacancy follows the story of a small town who is struggling to deal with the aftermath of the death of a council member.

6/10 – not one of my favourites.

What I liked about it; I enjoyed the development of the town and how realistic their reactions were to the death. I also liked the way that there was a separate storyline for each of the characters, and the fact that you were drip fed basic information all the way through.

What I loved about it; I loved the way that it was so delicately done. That the snideness of all the different people was so well done that it made the whole more believable, and in fact in terms of reactions and the way that people were around each other was some of the best writing I have ever read. I do think that the character development and lives are some of the most well developed EVER, this is obviously something that J K Rowling has always been good at.

What I disliked about it; Although the characters were well developed I felt that the story wasn’t, it wasn’t that the story was bad, it was just too slow for my liking, there was too much jumping around and not keeping on one focus point.

What I hated about it; I hated the ending, I hated the fact that there were so many unanswered questions, and not in a good way. This book for me ended way too abruptly and didn’t offer any answers for what seemed like the main questions that were asked at the start. All in all I found it really disheartening and disappointing. There was no pay-off at the end.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz, this one was one of the books I received fairly recently, and have been DYING to read it, and one of my friends says that it’s absolutely fantastic.

4 thoughts on “The Casual Vacancy… where’s the payoff?

  1. It’s interesting to read your thoughts on The Casual Vacancy. I was interested in reading it when it first came out, but the $17.99 price tag for the ebook dissuaded me. The price is less expensive–and the library copy is now available (there was quite a line at first)–but I just don’t think this novel is for me. For now, I’ll stick with Harry Potter.

    • Yeah. It was an alright book but the ending was rubbish.

      I wish I had kept with my harry potter books.

    • I just thought that there was too many unanswered questions, too many things that were left unsaid.

      But then I do like a book that wraps everything up nicely, with a bow of course.

Leave a Reply

