Clockwork Angel, a hit in the right direction.

We are thrown into the Shadowhunter world once again, but this time it is the Victorian Era in London and Tessa Gray has just stepped foot on solid ground after making her way over from New York. She is immediately in danger and her whole world begins to change.

8/10 – so much better than The Mortal Instruments

What I liked about it; I liked the way that the Victorian Era created a whole new dynamic and set of rules for the characters to abide by. It also meant that the romance didn’t overtake the story which I felt kind of happened in The Mortal Instruments. In fact I loved the fact that they were reserved with one another, it kind of made the actual story feel more powerful, and their reactions seemed more real.

What I loved about it; I have to say that I loved the whole idea of this story, the fact that they are fighting the very thing that made the Victorian Era so successful, machinery. I think that it was executed extremely well. But I definitely love the contrasting thoughts on progress killing everyone. I have to say my favourite character is Jem, he is the perfect gentlemen and gives you no reason to hate him, which was refreshing, his back story breaks your heart and then he puts it back together with his resilience. All in all an amazing concept with an amazing character to go with.

What I disliked about it; I felt that with the characters that sometimes there were more reasons for you to stop rooting for them than to carry on. I completely understand that there should be a balance but at times it got slightly irritating to have to keep switching my feelings about a character page after page, for what seemed like no reason. I won’t say anything more, but after reading the end, this doesn’t bother me as much any more.

What I hated about it; I’m awful at this bit, but the only thing I think I hated was the lack of explanation on some parts in the novel, but I’m hoping that everything will be explained in the later novels. I suppose this bit is me being super impatient.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; Sepulchre by Kate Mosse, because I read the first one, kind of liked it and wanted to see if I can enjoy the second a little bit more.

 

Leave a Reply

