Catcher in the Rye… love or hate it?

This book tells the story of Holden from the time after he gets thrown out of his boarding school, and what he does from then on.

p.s I only realised halfway through that I had actually read this book before, so this was technically a reread.

7/10 – this was a better reread than expected!

What I liked about it;  I liked the tone that this book had, and the way that Holden carried himself and the idea that he was a teenager struggling with real problems.

What I loved about it; I loved the way that he spoke and the way that it was completely raw in the way that he was describing his life and the events in it.

What I disliked about it; The only real qualm I have about this book was that it wasn’t really clear that he was in a mental institution. But once you read the last chapter it becomes clear I suppose.

What I hated about it; I really didn’t hate anything about this book really, I didn’t have any strong feelings of hatred about any of it to be honest.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, I have heard amazing things about this book and really wanted to see if it was worth all the hype.

2 thoughts on “Catcher in the Rye… love or hate it?

    • I enjoyed it so much better on the second time around, maybe it was cause I got the subtext a little better!

Leave a Reply

