Reckless by Cornelia Funke… A complete fafff

This book follows a young man called Jacob Reckless and his friend Fox as they race throughout this new world in order to save his brother from becoming part of the world permanently.

6/10 - don't think this would be the first reread on my list.

6/10 – don’t think this would be the first reread on my list.

What I liked about it;  I liked the two different worlds and the way that there was a portal into it and that his little brother stepped through out of curiosity and caused a whole load of mischief along the way. It seems to be a running trait for younger siblings.

What I loved about it; I loved the character dynamic between Jacob and Fox, the way that they relied on each other and the way that Fox’s loyalty was unwavering even when he was being an absolute pain in her ass, was amazing.

What I disliked about it; I really disliked the characters Will and Clara, I really thought that they were flat and completely unnecessary. I found it incredibly hard to be feel sympathetic towards these characters, and it really ruined the whole book for me.

What I hated about it; This book was not supposed to be the first book in the series, the story progress too quickly and there was no time for me to connect with any of the characters or the worlds. I think that Cornelia Funke needs to remember that we haven’t experienced the world or the characters and that we need a little time to ease our way in. I was disappointed in how little I liked over half the characters.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I borrowed this off my friend and with university ending yesterday I need to read it by the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

