My massive book haul – take two

This is the second part, yay! Sorry about the lack of ‘real’ photo for Anna Karenina and The Knife of Never Letting Go I am in the middle of packing my uni room up and I had to pack them up almost immediately.

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hoesseini

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Number 11; And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini is a story about a journey with a brother and sister relationship, and this was a new release so it was a full price buy. Why? Because I absolutely ADORE Hosseini’s writing style, because he has a unique ability to shatter you but leave you smiling at the end.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger

Number 12; The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger, it’s narrated by a man who is going through treatment in a mental asylum. This was a bargain at a local charity shop. Why? This year I wanted to focus on reading more classics and ‘should have read’ books. So this was added.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Number 13; Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, a classic story about a young girl who goes out into the world to be a governess, this was a book that I found at the local charity shop for a whole pound. Why? I am completely obsessed with this story and I have a massive obsession with old copies and well loved editions.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Number 14; Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, this is a love story about a couple who are never allowed to be together. Once again this was an old copy that I bought at the local charity shop. Why? I really wanted to start reading more classics and this was a perfect match, in both aspects as the old cover is really beautiful.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Number 15; Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, this about twins who go in different directions in life and the ones twins life immersed in fan fiction online, this was another one that I didn’t mind paying full price for. Why? The concept of fan fiction and the twins going in different directions sounds like something that I am really going to enjoy reading.

Clockwork Angels by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angels by Cassandra Clare

Number 16; Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, set in the ‘shadowhunter world’ but in the Victorian times, this was also full price but who’s counting? Why? I really liked how The Mortal Instruments started but wasn’t keen on the direction it has started to go in, so I am SO hoping that this series will head in a better direction.

The Winter Ghosts by Kate Mosse

The Winter Ghosts by Kate Mosse

Number 17; The Winter Ghosts by Kate Mosse, from what I can gather it is a story that happens after the Great War, I found this in a local charity shop and had to buy it. Why? I wanted to see whether I would enjoy Mosse’s standalone novel more than I did the series.

Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

Number 18; Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton, I don’t think this story needs explaining, but here goes, a science company has mastered bringing dinosaurs back to life and makes it into a theme park and the story goes from there. If you can’t tell the cover is completely battered but I like it anyway. Why? I love the film and want to see whether the book compares.

Reckless by Cornelia Funke

Reckless by Cornelia Funke

Number 19; Reckless by Cornelia Funke, this follows two brothers as they race against time in another world, I bought this at a discount store. Why? I was recommended this by a friend and when I saw it for cheap I bought it.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Number 20; Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, this seems to be an epic love story and I found this book with this cover at my local charity shop. Why? I told myself that I would leave it a week and if this book was still there I would buy it and it was, obviously.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Number 21; The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, the people living in this book can hear each other thoughts and this is the basis of the story, I picked this up at full price. Why? I had heard wonderful things about Patrick Ness and wanted to experience his word magic for myself.

So that’s it. All the books I have bought recently. Hope you enjoyed looking through my collection of new buys!

 

2 thoughts on “My massive book haul – take two

Leave a Reply

