Recently bought books, take one.

I have been on a major book buying spree on the last few months both in mainstream book stores and also in charity shops., and thought I would share what I bought and why with you. THIS IS GOING TO BE A LONG POST! hah.

Sepulchre by Kate Mosse

Sepulchre by Kate Mosse

Number one: Sepulchre by Kate Mosse. This is a story that’s based in two time periods, 1891 and present 2007, following two female protagonists.I bought this book in a local charity shop. Why? Because it is the sequel to a book Labyrinth which I had finished reading when I walked into the shop and picked up the final book by mistake so had to go back and buy this one. Luckily it cost me a pound so if I decide I hate the series then no money lost.

Citadel by Kate Mosse

Citadel by Kate Mosse

Number two; Citadel by Kate Mosse. From what I can gather, it is set during World War II and follows a cell of resistance under Nazi Occupation. This is the final book in the series and I bought this in the same local charity shop as Sepulchre . Why? This was actually a mistake, I didn’t do my research before I bought it and thought it was a standalone novel by Kate Mosse. I was kinda disappointed that I bought another of a series that I wasn’t overly sure about. The obsessive book buyer in me took over and as you can see I bought the second. I’m hoping that this book will make up for the slow beginning of the first.

Iron King by Julie Kagawa

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Number three: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa, this book seems to be  the generic teenager being misunderstood and discovering a massive secret that explains all. I bought this book in a discount store when I was on holiday. Why? It was actually the cover that drew me to this series, but no matter how hard I tried I could never find the first book. So it became a personal vendetta that drove me to read this book. So looking forward to reading this.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

Number four: Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira, from what I have heard it’s a book about a student writing letters to people who have died young and tragically. This was one of the books that I didn’t mind splurging on and I actually bought it at full price in a mainstream store. Why? I have heard nothing but brilliant things about this book and I really want to read this and see what I think about it, see if it lives up to the hype.

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Number five; Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, this book is about a children’s home on an abandoned island where an American teenager pieces together his grandfather’s past, I bought this at full price at once again a mainstream book store. Why? I was really intrigued by the cover and by the illustrations that are inside. Soo looking forward to this.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Number six; Looking for Alaska by John Green, it seems to be about a young man that goes out into the world and meets a young woman called Alaska and the story develops. This was definitely one of the books that I wanted to buy regardless of the price. Why? I absolutely adored The Fault in Our Stars and really enjoyed the writing style, so wanted to see if I would love it as much as I did TFIOS.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Number seven; Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, this follows the story of love eventually happening in the city of love. I bought this at full price! Why? I have heard nothing but great things about this book and the series. I was really looking for a good time read, and something to relax with over summer, so here’s hoping I’ve found it.

Tuf Voyaging by George R.R Martin

Tuf Voyaging by George R.R Martin

Number eight; Tuf Voyaging by George R.R Martin, this is a collection of related short stories, and I manage to find this at a discount store. Why? I have bought the complete collection of The Game of Thrones books and really wanted to see whether I would like any other of his work that was maybe a little less intimidating.

The Armageddon Rag by George R.R Martin

The Armageddon Rag by George R.R Martin

Number nine; The Armageddon Rag by George R.R Martin, it follows a journalist as he moves away from his roots,I found this alongside the other and just had to buy. Why? Really the same reason as the above, I just really want to see whether I liked his other works.

Here Lies Bridget by Paige Harbison

Here Lies Bridget by Paige Harbison

Number ten; Here Lies Bridget by Paige Harbison, a story of a mean high school girl who dies and sees her life through the eyes of those who hate her, I saw this in a three for £5 deal and bought it. Why? I loved the cover and the concept behind it. Kind of excited to see how it goes.

SO there it is, the first ten books of my extensive haul. I hope you enjoyed it, these books are all on my TBR list and I will be reading and reviewing them all for you. Part two will be up tomorrow.

Keepa reading.

 

Leave a Reply

