Wuthering Heights – review.

8/10 - 'will definitely read it again'

8/10 – ‘will definitely read it again’

What I liked about it; I liked the ideals behind this book, the idea that you can go on this rampage of revenge and seek to hurt all those around you and you will still end up alone and miserable. It really touched me, and this is definitely something that I got really strongly from the book, and is one of the reasons I loved it so much.

What I loved about it; I loved the dynamic behind Cathy and Heathcliff, this forbidden love that was so strong and pure. It came out of a place of childhood innocence. It was absolutely heartbreaking watching the regrets unfold and the realisation that they would never be together. It took my breath away.

What I disliked about it; The ‘Lockwood’ character, I thought that the story stood on it’s own and didn’t need to be framed by bringing in a new character. I also thought, jeez isn’t that rude, trying to find out about the ins and outs of someone else’s life. That was about it for dislikes…

What I hated about it; I really hated how slow the beginning was, if it started with the actual story of Heathcliff and Cathy I think more people would read it. I’m so glad that I had the patience to get through it, because it would have been a shame for me to have not read it for that reason.

What’s next on my to read list and why?; Reckless by Cornelia Funke, I have it on good authority, aka my best friend that it’s an amazing series if I can get passed the first book. So here it goes.

Leave a Reply

