The Golem and Djinni

Chava is a golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a strange man who dabbles in dark Kabbalistic magic. Ahmad is a jinni, a being of fire, born in the ancient Syrian Desert. Trapped in an old copper flask by a Bedouin wizard centuries ago, he is released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop.

2/5 – richly written, but not much substance.

I really enjoyed the writing of this book, but I really hated the lack of story. There was so much beauty in the words and what was being said, but nothing much happened, and that was the biggest problems. It kind of felt as though the beauty was wasted, because there wasn’t anything happening, or development.

My biggest problem apart from the fact that for three-quarters of the book nothing happened, was the characters. They should have been fascinating and interesting, but they bored me, the interactions and the time passing bored me. It was repetitive and didn’t help me relate to them at all, which made it extremely hard to sympathise or root for them.

I thought that the scenery and the atmosphere of New York was well portrayed, if not a little too much. I feel as though Wecker should have focused more on the story than naming the streets and the parks. The descriptions were beautiful, they really were, it just wasn’t enough to entertain me for the whole 600 odd pages.

I feel as though the book focused too much on the details, rather than the bigger picture and the overall plot, and for me that was a problem. I thought that there needed to be a point to it all. Even the introduction of the creator and that threat level, 400 pages in wasn’t enough to resurrect the book for me.

Just wasn’t my cup of tea. The only thing that saved it was the beautiful writing style.

Favourite Quotes

“Sometimes men want what they don’t have because they don’t have it. Even if everyone offered to share, they would only want the share that wasn’t theirs.”

“The human body is like a piece of fabric. No matter how well one cares for it, it frays as it ages.”

Leave a Reply

